Congress’ new list has Manish Tiwari from Anandpur Sahib, Jyotiraditya Scindia from Guna


The Congress on Friday released a new list of its candidates for Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir and Jammu and Kashmir. Two key names in the list are of former Union Ministers Manish Tiwari and Jyotiraditya Scindia.

Manish Tiwari

According to the list, Tiwari will contest from Anandpur Sahib in Punjab as opposed to Chandigarh seat that he had reportedly asked for in this year’s Lok Sabha polls. The party has fielded former Union Minister Pawan Kumar Bansal from here. Scindia, who was recently made the AICC General Secretary for Uttar Pradesh West, has been fielded from his traditional Guna seat.

Both Punjab and Madhya Pradesh are now governed by the Congress. Five years ago, the two states were under the rule of the BJP or its alliance partner.

The Congress has also named former Barnala MLA Kewal Singh Dhillon from Sangrur Lok Sabha seat, where he will lock horns with sitting AAP MP Bhagwant Mann and former Punjab finance minister Parminder Singh Dhindsa, who is the Shiromani Akali Dal candidate.

With today’s announcement, the Congress has now released a list of 386 candidates. There are reports that the Congress will soon release the list of candidates for Delhi and Haryana, where the party may now go alone without any alliance with the Aam Aadmi Party



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here