Congress expels nine Assam MLAs for joining BJP


The Assam Pradesh Congress Committee (APCC) on Monday expelled nine party legislators after they recently joined the BJP.

A statement issued by the APCC on Monday said the nine legislators were expelled with immediate effect for six years for violating party discipline.

Also Read:  60-year-old man walks on road with severed head of his wife

“The nine legislators were expelled from the primary membership of the party on the recommendation of the Disciplinary Action Committee of the Congress,” the statement said.

The nine legislators are Jayanta Mallah Baruah (Nalbari), Pijush Hazarika (Raha), Pallab Lochan Das (Behali), Pradan Barua, (Jonai), Abu Taher Bepari (Golakganj), Kripanath Mallah (Ratabari), Rajen Borthakur (Tezpur), Binanda Kumar Saikia (Sipajhar) and Bolin Chetia (Sadiya).

Also Read:  Scientist, academician Yash Pal passes away

Known to be loyalists of former state health minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, the nine joined the BJP on November 7.

The nine had met BJP president Amit Shah in New Delhi in September and expressed their willingness to join the party.

Also Read:  MCD Elections 2017 Result LIVE: AAP blames 'EVM wave' for defeat in MCD polls


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here