BJP releases list 43 candidates for Bihar polls while allies sulk


BJP on Tuesday night released a list of 43 candidates for Bihar polls even as its allies appeared ‘unhappy’ over the seat sharing deal announced by the party on Monday.

Among the 43 seats, 19 for phase 1 and 15 for phase 2, 26 are sitting MLAS while it has denied tickets to three as the party said it gave more emphasis to youth.

Announcing the list, the union minister and BJP leader, JP Nadda said, “Fifty per cent preference has been given to youth and women while drawing up the list.”

The announcement was made soon after the party’s central election committee meeting, which was attended by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah.

Meanwhile, BJP’s allies, who complained of not being happy over the seat sharing sharing arrangement, has once again expressed their displeasure over the BJP’s decision to declare its list.

RLSP’S Fazal Mallick was reported to have said that declaring candidates’ list while the negotiations for seat sharing arrangement was still on was against the ‘dharma of coalition politics.’


On Tuesday, Ram Vilas Paswan’s son, Chirag Paswan told reporters how they were ‘shocked’ by ‘the seat-sharing formula we were told about earlier and what was announced.’


RLSP’s Upendra Kushwaha too told news agency ANI that ‘BJP ko bada dil rakhna chahiye (BJP should have a big heart).’

Under a seat-sharing formula announced Monday, the BJP will contest 160 seats, LJP 40, RLSP 23 and HAM 20 seats.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here