BJD forms ZPs in 18 districts, BJP in 8


The ruling BJD today formed Zilla Parishads in 18 districts followed by BJP in eight and Congress in only two districts, State Election Commission (SEC) officials said.

Of the 30 districts in Odisha, elections for the Zilla Parishad presidents were held today in 28 districts.

Image courtesy:

Polling in Malkangiri and Nuapada districts were not held following a Orissa High Court order, the officials said.

BJD formed Zilla Parishads in Angul, Balasore, Bhadrak, Boudh, Cuttack, Dhenkanal, Ganjam, Jagatsinghpur, Jajpur, Kandhamal, Kendrapara, Keonjhar, Khurda, Koraput, Nabarangpur, Nayagarh, Puri and Sundergarh.

Zilla Parishads in Bolangir, Bargarh, Deogarh, Gajapati, Kalahandi, Mayurbhanj, Sambalpur and Subarnapur districts went to BJP.

Congress could form Zilla Parishads in Jharsuguda and Rayagada districts, the officials said.

(With inputs from pti)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here