Bhubaneshwar, Pune, Jaipur secure top 3 spots in Smart City challenge


The Indian government on Thursday announced the names of the first 20 cities to be developed under Prime Minister’s 100 Smart Cities scheme.

Bhubaneshwar topped the list with the next two being Pune and Jaipur.

Union Minister for Urban Development, Venkaiah Naidu announced the list of 20 cities in Delhi.

Here are the remaining 17 cities announced by him on Thursday.

4. Surat

5. Kochi

6. Ahmedabad

7. Jabalpur

8. Visakhapatnam

9. Solapur

10. Davanagere

11. Indore

12. New Delhi

13. Coimbatore

14. Kakinada

15. Belagavi

16. Udaipur

17. Guwahati

18. Chennai

19. Ludhiana

20. Bhopal

Naidu has made it clear that the ministry had no role in the selection of the first 20 winners.

Speaking on the occasion, Naidu said, ” This is a good omen and a happy beginning. The spirit needs to be sustained to recast our urban landscape.  Smart Cities need to be inclusive, sustainable and effective engines of growth, fulfilling the aspirations of young India.”

According to the newly launched website, the following core benefits will be part of the smart cities;

  • Adequate water supply
  • Assured electricity supply
  • Sanitation, including solid waste management
  • Efficient urban mobility and public transport
  • Affordable housing, especially for the poor
  • Robust IT connectivity and digitalisation
  • Good governance, especially e-Governance and citizen participation
  • Sustainable environment
  • Safety and security of citizens, particularly women, children and the elderly
  • Health and education

(Please leave your comments below outlining which city, according to you, should have made the cut but didn’t)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here