Arunachal’s Congress government passes floor test, 46 voted in favour while 11 BJP MLAs voted against


Pema Khandu government of Arunachal Pradesh passed the floor test in assembly with 46 MLAs voting in favour of the Congress chief minister.

11 members from opposition BJP voted against it in 60-member House.

Khandu was elected as the new leader of Congress legislature party after Supreme Court restored the Congress government in the state.

Also Read:  Pema Khandu sworn in as Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister

Narendra Modi government had unconstitutionally dismissed the Congress government.

Last week, Khandu was sworn in as the ninth Chief Minister of Arunachal Pradesh marking the culmination of fast-paced political developments in this north-eastern state.

Also Read:  Arunachal gone and Uttarakhand to follow, 'Modiji's Congress-free India slogan will become reality: Jaitley
Congress advt 2

Chowna Mein was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister.

Congress on Saturday had played its master stroke to quell the rebellion, which posed danger to its government in the state on a day Nabam Tuki was asked to prove majority in the assembly.

Also Read:  BJP keeps options open on aligning with PPA in Arunachal

Faced with a real possibility of a defeat, Nabam Tuki resigned the leader of the Congress Legislative Party paving the way for Pema Khandu, the son of former Arunachal CM, Dorjee Khandu, who had died in a chopper crash in May 2011.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here