Amidst high drama, 27 Rajya Sabha members elected, Zee Media’s Subhash Chandra among winners


Elections for 27 Rajya Sabha’s seats on Saturday were quite dramatic after Congress accused the BJP of indulging in unfair means to ensure its candidates’ win.

The most notable results came from Haryana, where 14 Congress votes were declared invalid.

In the end, BJP’s Birender Singh and Zee Media chairman Subhash Chandra, who was supported by the BJP, were declared winners amidst high drama.
subhash chandra

Former HRD Minister and Congress leader Kapil Sibal won from Uttar Pradesh despite three party MLAs cross-voting in support of an independent candidate backed by the BJP.

BJP won all four Rajya Sabha seats in Rajasthan with M Venkaiah Naidu, Om Prakash Mathur, Harshvardhan Singh and Ramkumar Verma being declared winners. MJ Akbar and Anil Madhav Dave won from Madhya Pradesh.

Madhya Pradesh also saw the victory of Congress-supported candidate Vivek Tankha.

The states that went to polls for 27 Rajya Sabha seats included Karnataka, Madhya Pradesh, Jharkhand, Haryana, Rajasthan and Uttarakhand.

There were 11 seats from Uttar Pradesh, four each from Karnataka and Rajasthan, three from Madhya Pradesh, two each from Haryana and Jharkhand and one from Uttarakhand.

On 3 June 57 seats in Rajya Sabha were left vacant, of which 30 were re-elected unopposed. The included Suresh Prabhu and Piyush Goyal, Supreme Court lawyer Ram Jethmalani, Rashtriya Janata Dal supremo Lalu Prasad’s daughter Misa Bharati and former JD(U) president Sharad Yadav.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here