After Urjit Patel, Surjit Bhalla resigns from PM Modi’s Economic Advisory Council


Surjit Bhalla, economist and columnist, has resigned from the Economic Advisory Council of Prime Minister Narendra Modi. He made the announcement on social media platform Twitter.

Surjit Bhalla

His tweet read, “I resigned as part-time member PMEAC on December 1st; also look for my book Citizen Raj: Indian Elections 1952-2019.”

Bhalla was included in the EAC in September last year, when Modi formed a 5-member Economic Advisory Council to analyse economic and other issues. NITI Aayog member Bibek Debroy was selected to head the EAC, while other members included include NITI Aayog’s Principal Advisor Ratan Watal and Rathin Roy and Ashima Goyal as part-time members.

Bhalla’s resignation follows the shock resignation of Reserve Bank of India Governor Urjit Patel, who quit from his post on Monday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here