Congress wins crucial assembly bypoll in BJP-ruled Jharkhand


Continuing its impressive showing from the recently concluded Bihar elections, the Congress on Thursday pulled off another victory over its arch rival the BJP by winning Jharkhand’s Lohardaga assembly by-election.

Congress candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat won the seat, defeating BJP-backed All Jharkhand Students Union’s (AJSU) candidate Niru Bhagat.

Also Read:  Has AAP averted major crisis? All eyes on party's Muslim face Amanatullah's next move

While Congress candidate Sukhdeo Bhagat, who is also the state PCC chief, polled 73,859 votes, Niru Shanti Bhagat of AJSU, an NDA constituent, bagged 50,571 votes. Former Jharkhand Minister Bandhu Tirkey of Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (Prajatantrik) finished third with 16,551 votes, election commission officials said.

Also Read:  Why are they scared of DDCA probe: Arvind Kejriwal on reports of LG rejecting commission of enquiry

The by-poll, held on December 14, was necessitated following disqualification of AJSU leader Kamal Kishore Bhagat after he was sentenced to jail for five years in connection with an attack on a doctor in 1993.

Also Read:  Tayal is new Director General of elite counter-terror force NSG

This victory will worry the BJP as the state is being ruled by the saffron party.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here