Prity Bhattacharjee declared Sony TV’s Superstar Singer champion


Prity Bhattacharjee was declared the winner of the first ever Sony TV’s Superstar Singer reality show. She received a trophy and a cheque of Rs 15 lakh in prize money.

Six contestants had made it to the final. They were Prity Bhattacharjee, Mauli, Sneha Shankar, Harshit Nath, Ankona Mukherjee, and Nishtha Sharma.

These contestants were mentored by captains namely Sachin Valmiki, Jyotica Tangri, Salman Ali and Nitin Kumar. Nitin was declared the ‘Captain Of The Season.’

All finalists also received a scholarship worth Rs 2 lakh each.

The show’s judges were singers Javed Ali, Alka Yagnik and Himesh Reshammiya.

Sunday night’s grand finale also saw comedy performances by Kiku Sharda and Krushna Abhishek from The Kapil Sharma Show.

The finale also saw a mesmerising rendition of Mohammed Rafi’s iconic romantic ballad Tum Jo Mil Gaye Ho by judge and playback singer Javed Ali.

Himesh too made a dramatic entry on the stage to perform to his own popular tracks.

Anu Malik and Pyarelal of Laxmikant-Pyarelal fame too were present as special guests.

The Superstar Singer show will now be replaced by another Sony TV singing reality show the Indian Idol. The channel has already begun promoting the show.

From the promo, it looks like Sony Entertainment has found the cream of some of the most talented budding singers from around the country.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here