Election Commission directs Eros Now to remove web series on Narendra Modi, bans future streaming


The Election Commission on Saturday directed the on-demand video platform, Eros Now, to remove its web series on Prime Minister Narendra Modi. The national poll body also banned the future streaming of its episode of its series Modi-Journey of a Common Man.

Eros Now

“It was brought to our notice that a web series “Modi-Journey of a Common Man,” having 5 episodes is available on your platform. You’re directed to stop forthwith the online streaming & remove all connected content of the series till further orders,” news agency ANI quoted the Election Commission’s order.

Last week, the Delhi Chief Electoral Officer had written to the Election Commission drawing its attention to a web series on Prime Minister Narendra Modi, which went online earlier this month. The CEO had said that the web series was still being streamed without permission from the Media Certification and Monitoring Committee (MCMC). “The MCMC of the East Delhi constituency had received a complaint on April 11 through a grievance redressal portal,” news agency PTI had quoted an official as saying.

This had come days after the Election Commission had stalled the release of a biopic on Narendra Modi, starring Vivek Oberoi. The EC in its order had said that any such film that subserves purpose of any political entity or individual should not be displayed in the electronic media.

It had said, “The Election Commission’s order said, “…Any poster or publicity material concerning any such certified content, which either depicts a candidate (including prospective) for the furtherance (or purported to further) of electoral prospect, directly or indirectly, shall not be put to display in electronic media in the area where MCC (Model Code of Conduct) is in operation.”

The web series has been produced by Eros Now and Benchmark Pictures. Directed by Umesh Shukla, the series stars Faisal Khan, Ashish Sharma, Mahesh Thakur, Darshan Jariwalla and Makrand Deshpande.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here