BJP exchanges Lok Sabha seats of Varun Gandhi and Maneka Gandhi, Jaya Prada fielded against Azam Khan


The BJP on Tuesday exchanged the Lok Sabha seats of Varun Gandhi and his mother Maneka Gandhi with each other. This now means that while Varun Gandhi will be seen contesting from Pilibhit, his mother will fight from Sultanpur.

Varun Gandhi
Photo: India Today

In 2014, Varun had won from Sultanpur, while his mother had emerged victorious from Pilibhit. Maneka Gandhi was also a part of Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s cabinet.

The BJP also announced the name of Jaya Prada from Rampur, where she will lock horns with her former colleague Azam Khan. Prada had joined the BJP on Tuesday.

The saffron party has also fielded Satyadev Pachauri from Kanpur after denying its sitting MP and BJP’s founding member, Murli Manohar Joshi, a ticket from her. In 2014, Joshi had won from here by a huge margin after leaving his tradition Varanasi seat for Narendra Modi.

The party has fielded Rita Bahuguna Joshi from Allahabad. Joshi is currently a minister in the Uttar Pradesh government. She had left the Congress to contest assembly elections on a BJP ticket in the 2017.

Manoj Sinha, who was a minister in the government led by Modi, has been fielded from Ghazipur Lok Sabha seat.

The BJP on Tuesday also announced the names of its candidates for the 10 seats of West Bengal, which will go to polls in seven phases. The party has fielded former minister Humayun Kabir from Murshidabad. The party has given ticket to actor Joy Banerjee from Uluberia.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here