Arnab Goswami in committee to fight fake news, Pragya Thakur in committee to probe Malegaon terror attack; Supreme Court’s formation of committee on farmers’ strike triggers meme fest


The Supreme Court’s announcement of the formation of a four-member committee to find a resolution to the ongoing farmers’ agitation against the three Farm Laws has triggered a meme fest with netizens mocking the choices of individuals for the panel. Taking potshots at the top court, some netizens suggested that, going by that logic, now a special committee will be formed comprising Arnab Goswami and Sudhir Chaudhary to fight the menace of fake news. Others felt that terror-accused Pragya Thakur should now be considered to be included in a committee to probe the Malegaon bomb blast.

Netizens’ began to register their outrage through memes after a Supreme Court Bench headed by Chief Justice of India SA Bobde announced a four-member committee to carry out talks with protesting farmers over their ongoing agitation against the three Farm Laws.

Four individuals announced by CJI Bobde for the special committee are BKU leader Bhupender Singh Mann, farmer leader Anil Ghanwant of Shetkari Sanghatana, agricultural scientist Ashok Gulati and Pramod K Joshi of International Food Policy Research Institute.

[Also Read: CJI SA Bobde’s choice of members for committee to hold talks on Farm Laws will worry protesting farmers]

All four members included in the committee are known to have supported the Farm Laws and have been ardent supporters of the BJP and Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

Here’s how Twitterati reacted;

While announcing the committee, the Supreme Court also put the implementation of the Farm Laws on hold. Curiously, the government lawyer did not oppose the stay on the implementation of the laws.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here